Uncategorized

The Gift of Time

                “Sometimes it seems as though a time bandit steals our minutes when we’re not looking, only to leave us feeling frustrated and regretful at the end of the week,” wrote Cheryl Richardson, coach and author of Life Make Overs: 52 Practical & Inspiring Ways to Improve Your Life One Week at a time.

                Look at your week, where do you spend your time? How much time do you spend working? How much time do you spend caring for others? How much time do you spend caring for yourself? Did you know that an average person spends time working fifty five hours a week including commuting to and from work, preparing for work and worrying about work. Does this sound like you? Then add in, any time caring for family (children, elder parents, or other loved ones). It does not leave much time for shopping, cleaning, errands, etc. Well, we’ve got to sleep as well, per recent studies, we are not getting enough of that either. We are sleep deprived. I know, I feel it. I could have taken a nice nap this afternoon.

We control where our time goes, wrote Richardson. Adding, time is a gift that most of us take for granted. I wonder on some days how my time gets away from me. You probably share in that wonderment as well.

                “We get so caught up in the busyness of our daily lives that we rarely stop and take a look at how we’re spending this gift,” wrote Richardson.

                Do you keep a budget of where you spend your money? Do you allocate dollars to each financial category? I had, I got out of practice. Budget is key to know where our money goes. Well… keeping a log of where we spend our time is just as important. Starting on Sunday, I decided that I was going log my time for a two weeks then look where my time is spent. Well…at least an hour of week is used to write and post my blog. I am working on a contract until the end of the year and I am averaging thirty hours week.  I will be curious to see how much of my time is spent just hanging out on Face Book or checking my e-mail.  I am not bad at getting myself to bed, but darn 6 am comes so early on week days. Time is finite, so it is so valuable.

Our choices become more important when we realize how limited that our time is, wrote Richardson. Here is Richardson’s challenge for us this week: an Absolute “yes” list.  What is this list? It includes your five top priorities that need your attention over the next three to six months. This is different than creating goals. Rather it is a way to focus where your attention needs to be directed in order to build a strong foundation.

It could be a relationship that has been neglected. Perhaps you need to focus on a special project at work, or take time to exercise and improve your health. Ask yourself, what do you need to focus on now? The goal of the “absolute yes” list will help you prioritize your time so when your life gets hectic, you can consider what needs your attention. The absolute yes list means can help you discern when to say “yes” and when to say “no.”  

It is time to get started; so clear off some time in your day to begin your “Absolute Yes” list. Sit down with your journal and relax. Now ask yourself two questions:

  • What needs my attention at this time of my life?
  • What do I need to let go of?

Don’t censor your answers. Consider the different parts of your life as you create this list. Think about the following:

  • Relationships
  • Family
  • Community
  • Work
  • Emotional and physical health
  • Finances, etc

Remember, Richardson pointed out, that if you do not say “yes” to something then your schedule won’t fill up. I have gotten a lot better at discerning what to say yes to over the last few years. I still think this list “absolute yes” list will be a challenging exercise. The process for creating the “Absolute Yes” list should be repeated every three to six months. Priorities can change.

Challenge yourself to say “no” to requests of your time if it does not meet your priorities. Remember, self-care is extremely important. You do not need to explain your reasons-tell the truth. Last of all, doing things out of guilt and obligation is not doing them out of love wrote Richardson.

Richardson points out that learning to say no with grace and love will be key to protecting your gift of time. Once you made up your list, write the priorities on index cards and place them in strategic places throughout your home to remind you of your priorities.

What really matters to you? In what way can you carve out time to say “yes” to it?

God bless.

 

Reources:

Richardson, Cheryl. Life Make Overs: 52 Practical & Inspiring Ways to Improve Your Life One Week at a time. Broadway Books, New York. ©2000.

Leave a comment