Why the Rush?

aca82009.89

What happened to slowing down and taking in all that is around us bit by bit? I am tired of the fast-paced world. I want to get off this “merry go-round” of rush, rush, rush, and stop. I recall the days when my sons were toddlers. They took their time to take in all that was around them. They were curious about almost everything. If I tried to move too fast, they got overwhelmed, stalled, and would not budge. I could feel my patience spurting out of me as if I was a sieve. Perhaps, they had the better way to approach life; taking the world in bit by bit.

In our culture’s rush to get and there, we miss out on the need to stay focused. When I slowed down, my sons were less anxious and tense. We can create the atmosphere for our children to explore. My sons are now grown. One is twenty-two years old with another semester of college left. The other just graduated from high school. I am learning to appreciate my surroundings.

I admit my to-do list is trying to take a spot in my head as I write this blog. I am not going to let it take over. I am focusing on the words that I type on this page. Just take a moment, sit still breathe, and look all around you. What do you see that you had not noticed before? Remember, why the rush?!

Leave a Reply

