Magic of Grace

Originally published on 11/14/2013

https://acreativevoicebeckons.wordpress.com/2013/11/14/magic-of-grace/

Seekers are offered clues all the time from the world of the spirit. Ordinary people call these clues coincidences.”—Deepak Chopra.

Per Cheryl Richardson, there are three things that will help you stay on the Life Make Over path: “a partner, successful results, and the magic of grace,” p. 38, Life Make Overs.

“Action creates change,” wrote Richardson. Adding, it is time to stop thinking about the changes and start doing something about it. Who can you partner with to act?

What motivates you? Motivation is the fuel that inspires us to act. I am motivated to self-improvement and help others improve. Therefore, I am working on my coaching certification. A coach is a great way to help you set your goal and steps for you to take to get your goal.

I think I am motivated my daylight. In the last few weeks as the days have shortened, I have fallen backwards in my weight loss. I had maintained a twenty-pound weight loss for quite a few weeks. I have slipped into bad habits. Last month, I began a three-month contract position. Over the last few weeks, I have averaged 35 hours a week. The flexibility that I had prior to this contract position has been curtailed. Since I began this contract, my time to walk outside is limited to first thing in the morning. Unless I walk as early as 7 am, I do not get my walk in at all during the weekdays. Walking outside has been key for me to losing the weight. I prefer walking outside than trudging on the treadmill downstairs. Over the last couple of days, I have walked on the treadmill as a last resort. It was okay not great. I need actual sunshine.
I made up every excuse in the book not to walk outside today, it was too darn cold. So, I sat on the coach and ate my lunch, then after an hour, I was back on the computer for work. Working from home has advantages and disadvantages. I have worked hard over the last months to exercise and eat right. It is 5:15 pm and looks like midnight outside. Ugg! Something must change in my mind before I can change my negative pattern. I do not want to slide into unhealthy eating habits. I pray for help to change.
“The best motivating factor of all, however, is divine intervention, or what I like to call The Magic of Grace,” wrote Richardson.

Have you ever experienced divine intervention? What did it look like for you? I have experienced it in the past but not in a long while.

Perhaps you are waiting to decide about a job or a possible move, you could receive a piece of mail to help make that decision. Or, you are struggling with an issue and a friend has had a similar experience; your friend’s life lesson could help you. These events are a direct result of investing in your life and yourself to care for yourself. Setting time aside for yourself, saying “no” to over-loaded schedule, and saying yes to your goals are key to seeing the value in ourselves. Once we give time to ourselves, the magic of grace (coincidences) seem to happen more often.

“When you take steps to honor yourself…you’ll set in motion a higher order for your life,” wrote Richardson. Richardson advises taking good care of ourselves and wait for the miracles and those miracles will become the very special source of motivation throughout this journey.

Here is this week’s challenge: Pay close attention to coincidences that occur in your life as you make self-care a top priority. Notice when something makes your life easier, or when you receive a gift of kindness from another. Write down these coincidence (miracles of grace).

I suggest to paying attention to your dreams as well. Through my personal experience, God has spoken to me through my dreams. If I am struggling with something in life, I always end up back at my childhood home in my dreams. In my dream, I discover a new door that I had not seen before and open it up. It is almost as if, God wants me to see a new perspective. That perspective provides new information for me to make a choice.
Long time ago, someone I knew referred to coincidences as “God incidences.” Recognizing small miracles of grace in the coincidences, learning to trust yourself and your intuition go hand in hand. God bless, may you experience the miracles of grace.

Resources:
Richardson, Cheryl. Life Make-overs: 52 Practical Ways to Improve Your Life. Broadway Books, New York. ©2000.

 

Leave a Reply

