What is my “why?”

There are times in our lives when we wonder, why are we doing this? Is there a deeper purpose to our being? So I got thinking, what is my why?

It has been many weeks since I wrote a post to this blog. I have had writer’s block. What does the reader want? I can continue to write about the books that I have read and share an overview or book report. Is it different? Is it hooking the readers? Can my readers relate to what I write about? Books do inspire me.  I am a book lover. Are the blogs inspiring others to read those books? Is there a better way to connect?  Would the book inspire a conversation?

I was trained as a journalist. I earned my Bachelor’s in Broadcasting. I tried to be as objective as possible, offering more than one resource in my blog. Yet, in doing so, was I losing my voice? Was I losing my passion? Blogs were created to reflect the writer’s passion. I have seen that many blogs that successfully grab attention, keep attention, and create a following—show off the blogger’s view points, the blogger’s personality.

Here is my why.   I started this blog two years ago when I was going through a rough patch. I created the name of this blog, because I felt I was being called to do more, hence the name, the Creative Voice Beckons. I think I have lost my way somewhere and my initial passion has wandered off along with it.

For me the creative voice is the spirit inside me, the spirit of God calling me to make the most of my potential. How do I do that? I am on that journey to figure out what that Creative Voice is calling me to do. I may meet you on the road as you travel on your journey. We may travel together for the short duration or for the long haul. Such is our uniqueness, our journeys are individualized. We have our own “why’s.” We travel the same road but having different reasons for doing so.

I believe each of us have blessings and we need to make the most of those blessings. I think I have forgotten some of mine. These gifts and blessings were obscured, pushed aside. As I was cleaning out my mind, my memory, I recently came across them. One of them is writing, one is drawing and painting, and yet another is photography.

When we are not present in this moment, we miss the finite details that the Creative Voice (God) created. We miss points of our own story. Elements of our story that are revealed to us. Unraveled from obscurity. I think when I become engaged in life, I hold onto it. I explore it. I really try to fully live it. No doing the minimal to get by.

“This is the real secret of life — to be completely engaged with what you are doing in the here and now. And instead of calling it work, realize it is play.” -Alan W. Watts

As I move forward, I look forward to sharing what the Creative Voice is beckoning me to do. I would be blessed and honored to inspire you to find your “why.”

Resources:

Jones, Laurie Beth. Jesus Career Counselor: How to Find (and Keep) Your Perfect Work.

Laurie Beth Jones is the bestselling author of Jesus CEO. She has inspired me to think differently about leadership and life.

Leave a Reply

